Mint – Kalonji Instant Idly

Maybe it was seeing that really cute MTR idly ad on FB or maybe because I am missing home like never ever ever before, or maybe because I was plain tired of chappathi’s, or maybe because I saw Instant Idly on Edible Garden, whatever the reason was I decided to go ahead and make Instant Idly.

Being a serious food blogger now (ahem ahem) I could not just make any ordinary instant idly (or so I like to think) so I made the delicious mint – kalonji Instant Idly. I loved it and my husband, who is so fussy about eating “these funny things you make” liked it too. And people, that I believe is endorsement enough. It is quick, easy and convenient.

So MTR despite the fact you have a great ad on your side I believe I’ll go ahead with my own version. As for the good people reading my blog I sure hope you try it out. Mint – Kalonji Idly anisha ishstyle  🙂

Ingredients:

Rava- 1 cup

Curd- 11/2cups

Kalonji / Nigella seeds- 2 tsp

Dried Mint Leaves- 1 tsp (it was too much my idly turned green I suggest you halve it)

Mustard seeds- 1 tsp

Urad dhal- 1 tsp

Salt- 1 tsp

Soda- 1 tsp

Oil- 2 tsp

Method: Heat the oil in a kadai, add mustard, urad dhal, kalonji and fry it for 2 minutes. Then add the rava and roast it till pink. Take a large bowl, add the rava, salt and soda. Then add yogurt and mix well, also add the mint leaves and mix well. Grease the idli moulds, pour spoon full of batter in the mould. Steam the idlis in normal cooker or rice cooker, until it’s done. Serve the hot steaming idly’s with chutney and sambhar or with two chutneys as I did.

FYI 1 – The two chutneys were Brinjal chutney and tomato chutney. Ill share the recipe later I promise 🙂

FYI 2 – I used dried mint leaves because I had it. The actual recipe calls for curry leaves. You can use curry leaves just remember to sauté it along with the mustard seeds and other items for the tadka.

Hope you’ll liked it hope you will try it at home till we meet again happy cooking

Update: I forgot to add Kalonji in the recipe. Thank you Prasi for pointing it out to me 🙂 It goes with the items for the tadka

5 thoughts on “Mint – Kalonji Instant Idly

  1. Pingback: Recipe Index « anishathefoodie

Leave a Reply

