Potato Roast with ajwain and fenugreek

I love potatoes I know I have already and said so but I mean it. It is bad for health … I know, its fattening … I knooowwww but Potatoes are yummilicious to the power 1 million. Yes I mean it I love potatoes (I know I am stating the obvious) and the best part is it is so easy to prepare and using small variations you can make a million different dishes. So people of the world repeat after me long live the fame of potato J

There is another reason why I like potatoes so much … my husband, he loves potatoes. Chapathi and potato he can eat 3 times a day 365 days a year (I haven’t tried though I get fed up making chapathis). So here is what I made one fine day. Ajwain infused potato roast.

Ingredients

Potato – 1 big or 2 small

Mustard Seeds – ½ tsp

Ajwain (carom seeds) – ½ tsp

Onion – ½ Chopped (optional)

Ginger – ½ tsp chopped minutely (if your lazy you can use store bought paste I however don’t advise it)

Dried fenugreek Leaves – ½ tsp

Dried red chilly – 1 cut into small pieces

Green Chilly – 1 (slit)

Chilly Powder – ½ tsp

Chaat Masala – 1 tsp (totally optional)

Salt – To taste

Oil – As much or as liitle as you think you need.

Water – a little

Potato fry

Method

Heat a little oil in a saucepan and splutter mustard seeds when done add ajwain and onions. You may skip the onions if you are in a hurry but I feel it is better with onions. Sauté it till light pink add salt, ginger, Fenugreek leaves, Red chilly, green chilly, and chilly powder and sauté it. Why you ask me I put all three, sheer glamour quotient. You can actually put just any one of the three chillies but for the lovely colors I get I put all three J

So as I was saying sauté it add potatoes and sauté it again. Let it coat the potatoes. You can add a little more oil and ket the pan roasted look. There are two ways of cooking the potatoes, either you can pour a little water and cover it and steam till just done or you keep sautéing it adding oil little by little till done, either way is fine. I chose the first way just because I felt like it that day J

So when the potatoes have been steamed enough and the water has evaporated (remember pour as little water as you can) pour a little oil and roast the potatoes toil it gets the color which you want. If you are using Chaat masala now might be a good time to add it. A quick stir and we are good to go.

Garnish with coriander leaves (the smell oh is heavenly) and serve with love. It is a good combo for rice or chapathi. Enjoy

For those who are wondering why I used Ajwain it is because it has great flavor and if that is not reason enough check out this link.

And every one knows how good fenugreek is for health right. They are known to be very high in iron as well as having significant levels of potassium, fiber, and calcium. Few diet experts say that the leaves are nearly healthier than the spinach in providing an excellent dose of vitamin K.

This entry goes to Herbs and Flowers in my platter- Fenugreek leaves being hosted by PJ.

2 thoughts on “Potato Roast with ajwain and fenugreek

  1. Pingback: Recipe Index « anishathefoodie

Leave a Reply

