American Chop Suey

I first ate American chop suey at Dynasty in Chennai and I totally liked it. Something about the crispy noodles and the flavorful sauce just appealed to me. Of course a major hindrance was the multitude of vegetables in the sauce, but I was a very resourceful child I neatly picked of the vegetables I didn’t like and ate the rest. Moreover chop suey holds a very special place in my heart because it is absolutely loved by my dear cousin and best friend Kelitha. Kelitha and I grew up together with our other cousins, a primarily girls group, in Chennai and had the most wonderful time together. I am close with all my cousins but Kelitha holds a very special place in my heart. Love you keli J

Getting back to the recipe I made this for dinner one night only because there were a couple of Maggie packets in my pantry for the longest time (Maggie in Qatar is just not as good as it is in India L ) I decided to make “something different” and after recipe hunting made this chop suey. I fully expected my husband to hate it (as he is not very fond of deep fried items), but to my (most) pleasant surprise he loved it and has asked me to make it for him again and againJ.

It is easy, tasty, not very healthy, but uses up all kinds of leftover vegetables in your fridge. What more can you ask for from a recipe. Bon appétit

Ingredients
Noodles – 250 gms app.
Oil – for deep frying

For Sauce
Ginger – 1 ” piece (minced)
Garlic – 3-4 cloves (minced)
Onion – 1 medium (sliced)
Vegetables of choice – 2 cups

(Vegetables I used, carrot, cabbage, beans, , capsicum, brocooli florets, corn and green peas)

Tomato Ketchup – 4 tblsp
Chicken/Vegetable Stock/ Water  – 1 cup ( I used water)
Corn Flour – 3 tsp
Soy Sauce – 1 tsp
Chilli Sauce – 1 tsp

Salt – to taste
Pepper Powder – to taste

Method

Boil the noodles for 1 minute and drain it immediately. Deep fry it in oil. You can wither fry it bit by bit or you can fry it whole. I chose to fry it whole. Heat a kadai and add 1-2 tblsp of oil. Add the finely chopped garlic, ginger and sliced onions. Sauté it well till pink. Add all the veggies and stir fry on high heat so that all the vegetables should be cooked but still retain their crispiness.

In the mean time, take the corn flour in a separate bowl and add the water to it little by little so that it gets mixed up without forming any lumps. Add the soy sauce, tomato ketchup, chilly sauce, salt and pepper to this. Add this mixture to the cooked veggies and let it cook for about 10 minutes till the sauce is reduced and thickened. Taste the sauce to check for seasonings.

To assemble the chop suey place the fried crispy (yummy) noodles on a plate and pour the sauce in the centre. If you are adding an egg make a bulls eye and place it on top of the chop suey

There you go American chop suey awaiting your pleasure. J

3 thoughts on “American Chop Suey

  1. Pingback: Recipe Index « anishathefoodie

Leave a Reply

