Methi Chicken

Who doesn’t love chicken? Of all the non vegetarian’s I have met there are few I have met who don’t like chicken I am no exception nor is my husband. There are days when I can’t think of making vegetables, I make a simple chicken curry. There is almost always chicken breast in my freezer and I have what feels like thousand recipes for chicken. Incidentally I defrosted the chicken to make some yummy looking chicken pickle from Ria’s blog, but somehow that never materialised. Funnily enough I tried unsuccessfully to make the pickle a second time, however I never made it that time either, but that’s another story for another time, so here is one more recipe from my treasure trove of recipes. I have no idea about the origin of this recipe. It belongs to the age of writing down recipe from all kinds of sources. Food blogging never occurred to me then nor did the concept of writing down the author’s name. But to whoever is the creator of this wonderful Methi chicken I would like to express my sincere gratitude. This is a winner of a recipe. Fancy enough to serve to guests, simple enough to make often, and more than tasty enough to warrant request for more. So here I present to you my beloved dearies methi chicken.

Methi Chicken

Chicken breasts or any other piece – 500 grams

Onion – 1 (chopped)

Tomatoes – 2

Ginger – 1 inch

Garlic – 2-3 big cloves

Hung curd (or greek) – 1 tblsp (beaten)

Cardamoms – 2

Black peppercorns – 5-6 freshly crushed

Cinnamon – 1 stick

Cumin seeds – 1 tsp

Chilli powder – 1 tsp

Turmeric powder – ½ tsp

Green chillies – 6 (chopped)

Dried fenugreek leaves (Methi) – 1 tsp

Oil – as required

Salt to taste

Puree the tomatoes together with the four chillies, ginger and garlic and keep aside. Dry roast and powder the whole spices and keep that aside as well. Heat a kadai and add onions and sauté till onions turn pink. Add the spice powder and stir well. The author had mentioned that if the masala starts getting stuck to the bottom  we should pour a little hot water but I didn’t require it. Please use if your masala is getting stuck.

Add the pureed tomatoes mixture and cook for 10 minutes, stirring regularly, add the masala powders and mix in the curd. The masala will thicken and darken and it’s strong smell goes, then add salt.

Now I will give you an option, the author says if we want we can cool the masala and blend it at this stage, this helps in creating a restaurant finish, I say go for it. However, if you are not interested you can skip this part though I will advise you not to, no pain no gain sweetheart.

After blending the masala add the chicken, pour in water enough to submerge the chicken and let it boil after it starts boiling lower the flame and let it cook  uncovered till done, how much ever or how less ever time. Keep stirring at infrequent interevals.

When the chicken is ready, take a small kadai and pour a little oil and the chopped chillies (check for your spice tolerance first) and the fenugreek leaves until the leaves turn a dark green. Pour it into the curry and simmer for two minutes. Your unbelievably taste methi chicken is ready for you. Garnish with coriander leaves or even celery leaves (I use celery and I find it adds a different layer of taste.)

Finger licking good, I suggest you go for it.  Till we meet again Kabhi Alvida Na Kehana

5 thoughts on “Methi Chicken

  1. Pingback: Recipe Index « anishathefoodie

Leave a Reply

