Choco – cherry surprise

It is very rarely that I post a recipe on my blog as soon as I make it, I take my own sweet time as there is always a backlog for me. However this I need to post it and soon. This is a simple chocolate cake that is made without eggs, butter or even chocolate. What no eggs, butter, or chocolate what kind of a cake it is you ask he he he (mysterious smile), it is a vegan cake. Not that I have a problem with eggs or butter but the simple truth and  fact is I didn’t have eggs at home (I know I am shocked too I love eggs and it is almost always there). I could have waited but frankly speaking I couldn’t. The baking God’s pressurized me too much the urge was too powerful to control :-(. Anyways as long as there are blogs what do I need to worry I immediately set forth to all my favourite baking sites and I ended up with this recipe from Edible Garden. I saw it I loved it and I made it. It was lovely. What are you waiting for go people go make it? You know you want to 🙂

Oh and BTW this started as a cup cake but due to time constraints after one batch of cupiecakes I just made the rest of it as a cake. Oh and what was that why is it called a choco – cherry surprise, because I surprised myself by turning my cupie cake into a cake and adding some leftover cherries so you see, you don’t ah well doesn’t matter let’s just get into the recipe

Choco - cherry cupiecakes

Maida – 2 cups
Sugar – 3/4 cups
Cocoa powder – 1/2 cup

{It is after all a chocolate cake and there is no other source of chocolate in this}
Vegetable oil – 1/2 cup and a little more
Water – 1 cup
Low fat milk  – 1/2 cup at room temperature
Baking powder – 1 tbsp (Nags says, “remember, no eggs!”)
Vanilla essence – 1 tsp
Salt – a generous pinch
Instant Coffee – 1 tsp

Cherries – 5 – 6 sliced into roundels [totally optional]

My pretty preety cupie cakes

Preheat oven @ 175 degrees Celsius for about 10 minutes.

In a large bowl, sift flour, cocoa powder, coffee powder, baking powder and salt. Add sugar and mix together. Add the rest of the ingredients and beat well till it becomes a smooth batter.  Next, add oil, water, milk and vanilla and mix thoroughly, churning the batter in one direction. Add the cherries. Pour into muffin/cake pan and bake for about 20 – 25 minutes {in my oven check yours for timing} or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

With this quantity of batter I got 12 mini muffins and a 9” square pan cake.

Choco- cherry surprise

5 thoughts on “Choco – cherry surprise

  1. Pingback: Recipe Index « anishathefoodie

Leave a Reply

