Chembu fry

Hey guys remember my chembu curry … a long ago recipe I posted … I had mentioned that I love chembu … I still do and so when I saw this lovely looking Taro root stir fry in Sowmi’s blog I could not help it. I wanted it … I needed it oh. It looked yumm and yes people it tasted yumm too. Chembu or taro as I already said by virtue of being a root vegetable is quite carb rich but you know what when you eat this you will say … so what??? That is how good it is so people try this out at home you know you will not be disappointed.

My recipe comes from here, which came from here, and from here it will go here, to Aipi’s bookmarked event … yes people it is Tuesday, the day when any vegetable preparation can be sent to the bookmarked event organized by Aipi and Priya. So over to the recipe.

I haven’t changed anything except add extra meat masala. It can of course be substituted with good ol Garam Masala or even left out.

Chembu Roast

Taro Root – 8 pieces
oil – 2 tsp
Mustard seeds – 1 tsp
Ajwain seeds – 1 tsp

Curry leaves – 1 stalk
Red Chilly – 2 – 3
Salt – as needed

Red Chilly powder – 1 tsp
Coriander powder – 2 tsp
Amchur(Mango) powder – 1/2 tsp
Meat Masala – 1 tsp (optional)

Turmeric – 1/4 tsp

Chembu Fry

Peel the skin of taro root and cut them into mini French fries. Heat a pan, add oil, when hot add mustard, ajwain seeds. When they crackle add red chilly, taro root pieces and curry leaves. Mix well, close the pan. Let this cook for 5 mins. Now add salt, mix well and cook for 3-4 mins. Add all the powders, cover and cook for the last 5-6 mins or until tender.

Nice crispy and tasty taro root fry is ready.

This is going to Kerala Kitchen posted by Magpies Recipes

15 thoughts on “Chembu fry

  1. hai…thanx for the recipe….i tried it..was yummy….except dat it wasnt crispy..can u please tell me what to do to make it crispy??? thank u once again…:-)

    • Hi Fam
      Sorry for the delay, I currently am in India on vacation :). If you want it crispy just keep the kadai on medium to low flame and keep stirring until crispy. Be generous with the oil:)
      I hope it comes out well.

      Anisha

  2. Pingback: Recipe Index « anishathefoodie

  3. Pingback: Happy Onam | anishathefoodie

Leave a Reply

