Pomfret fry

I am sure in my last post on fish fry I told you, how much my husband and I adore this dish. There might not be too many ways to make fish fry – mallu style, but everyone of them is lipsmacking. One of the prettiest fish I have seen is the pomfret. Found in abundance back home and not so much in abundance here in Doha. But my husband brought these PYT’s and despite my best intention to make fish molly (another recipe another day), I made fish fry, my MIL style. My search for a similar recipe led me to Jisha’s site. The idea for the potato and onion fry came from there. Without too much ado let me give you the recipe for Pomfret fry or Nadan fish fry – II.

Pomfret fry

Pomfret – 2 (any other fish will do as well)

Kashmiri Chilly Powder –2 tsp

Turmeric Powder – 1/2 tsp

Fish Masala Powder – 1 tbsp (optional)

Ginger Garlic Paste – 1 tbsp

Black Pepper Powder – 1 tsp

Ground chilly – 4-5 (according to your spice tolerance)

Fenugreek powder – 1/4 tsp

Lemon Juice – 1 tbsp

Salt – to taste

Potato – 1 (sliced into thin discs)

Onion – 1 (sliced)

Oil – as little or as much as needed

Clean the fish and make three partial slits over its body. Wash well with salt, turmeric, and lime juice. Dry well and keep aside. Marinate the fish with everything except oil. Keep in the refrigerator for a minimum of ½ an hour. Take the fish out and bring it to room temperature and fry it. You can either deep fry it or shallow fry it (I deep fried the fish … a first in my life for me).

Fry the potato and onions that is marinating in the masala and serve fish lined over the potato and onions.

It tastes absolutely fabulous people you must absolutely try it.

This is going to Kerala Kitchen posted by Magpies Recipes

Till we meet again as the arabs say Ma as-salaamah

5 thoughts on “Pomfret fry

  1. Dohati Bebe, wt awesome recipes! Do continue baking, cooking, experimenting and posting :). Btw, how did u bake the cupcakes – Directly n the butter paper cups? Tks. Hope ur hubby knows how blessed he s :).

    • Awww love you babe. Yes I directly baked it in the muffin cup liners. Line the muffin pan with cups. Preheat the oven to 175 for 1 minutes pour about 1 tablespoon batter in the cup and bake until done :-}

  2. Pingback: Recipe Index « anishathefoodie

Leave a Reply

