Besan Puda / Besan dosa

I hate breakfasts, never been much of a breakfast eater all my life. Blaming lack of time as the reason I have never gotten into the habit of eating breakfast the habit still stands. Another reason I hate breakfasts is because I absolutely hate waking up in the morning, I will climb the highest mountain dive the deepest sea but please don’t ask me to wake up. This is usually my morning mantra.  But post marriage this is a problem for me. My husband believes in healthy breakfast leads to a great start of the day so how can I not prepare breakfast especially because he is right. As I have mentioned many times before, my husband is a great fan of chapathi. 3 times a day 365 days a year he is ready to eat chapathis, but I am not. So I look for alternates. One such easy alternative is Besan Puda. I have been eating Besan Puda for a long time except I didn’t know it had a name or that you could add vegetables in it. Anyhow this is a seriously simple and totally tasty dosa. It can be prepared as part of breakfast or dinner when nothing else has been planned. It tastes great and any chutney is a great combination for this. So here is the recipe from Manjula’s kitchen Besan Puda, because a good start leads to a great day.

Besan Puda

Ingredients:

Besan (gram flour)- 1 cup

Rice flour -1/4 cup (optional)

Salt- as required

Water – 3/4 cup

Ajwain seeds – 1/2 teaspoon (or cumin)

Green chilies – 1 teaspoon chopped

Carrot (capsicum, or/ and even cabbage) – 1 cup grated

Coriander leaves – 1 tablespoon chopped

Besan Dosa with onion chutney

Method:

Mix the dry ingredients together. In a bowl add besan, rice flour, salt, and ajwain seeds. Add the water slowly to make a smooth batter. The batter should be consistency of pancake batter or Dosa batter. Next add the chopped green chilies, chopped cilantro (green coriander) and grated carrot. Mix well.

Heat a non-stick skillet and make dosas out of the batter. Make sure you make thin dosas The puda should be golden brown on both sides to ensure it is crispy.

Tips:

Spread the batter quick, otherwise batter start drying and cannot be spread.

Serving Suggestions and variations from Manjula’s Kitchen :

  1. You can serve the puda with yogurt, chutney, spicy pickles, or ketchup.
  2. You can also fold the puda with shredded cheddar cheese, sliced tomatoes, or roasted vegetables.

Variations

  1. Zucchini can be replaced with finely chopped spinach, shredded potatoes, or very finely shredded cabbage.
  2. If you make the puda without vegetables, do not use rice flour. This will cause the pudas to be very dry.
  3. If you don’t have cilantro, you may replace with ground coriander powder. If you don’t have green chilies, you may replace with red chilly powder or flakes.

 

4 thoughts on “Besan Puda / Besan dosa

  1. Pingback: Recipe Index « anishathefoodie

Leave a Reply

