Beef Olarthiyathu

Have I told you guys I love beef? I am sure I have mentioned it more than a few times. While I love beef in all forms, my favourite is beef olarthiyathu. That is beef cooked with masala and sautéed in coconut oil along with coconut pieces, and curry leaves till dark brown. It is my friends my absolutely favouritest dish in the entire world. It is also something I just cannot resist no matter what. Though I have made this dish many times after I started this blog {and before it as well}, somehow I have never posted it on my blog. Well better late than never they say. This is my specialty, one of the dishes that made my husband fall head over heels in love with my cooking {if I may say so myself}. The recipe is pretty easy {except for the part involving making thenga kothu and the long patient wait while sautéing the beef}, But ladies and gentlemen … boys and girls … It is soooo worth it. Hey I’m just not telling it myself. All my husband’s friends think so too. His friend Christy said, “No one makes beef like an achayathi”, {achayathi of course refers to Syrian Christian women from Kottayam, Kerala}. Yes, I know this compliment doesn’t mention  me directly but hey I make 2 – 21/2 kilos beef every time for a gathering of 6 – 7 people and there never, let me repeat NEVER , any leftovers {the reason this dish had not featured on my blog till now}, and action my dear readers, always speak louder than words.

Beef Olarthiyathu

So here is my recipe for Beef olarthiyathu, except it’s not mine recipe it is the darling of many veetammas {home makers}, and aspiring malayalee cookers err cooks, it is none other than world famous in the malyalee community … Dr. Lekshmi Nair. Here goes the recipe.

Beef – ½ kg

Ginger – 3 tblsp chopped

Garlic – 10 pieces chopped

Curry leaves – as much as you care to have

Coconut – as much as you care to have cut into small pieces {I didn’t have any this time I skipped it but you guys must try it}

Curd – 1 – 2 tblsp

Shallots – 1 cup sliced

Salt – as required

Coconut oil – as much as you dare to use

Masala

Coriander powder – 1 ½ tblsp

Chilly powder – 2 tblsp

Pepper powder – ¾ tsp {you can add more if you want to}

Saunf – 1 tblsp

Turmeric powder – ½ tsp

Bay leaf – 1

Patta – 1

Cinnamon – 2

Elaka – 2

Star anise – 1

Take a cooker pour a little oil and sauté the coconut pieces. Remove from fire. To the same oil add ginger, garlic, shallots and sauté well. Add the masala and mix till integrated with the onions. Add beef and cook for a couple of minutes. Add the coconut and sauté well. Add curd, curry leaves and pressure cook till done.

Take a non stick pan {trust me it helps}, pour oil and add mustard seeds and curry leaves {here I add some dry chilly flakes but that’s totally optional}, add the cooked beef and sauté till it turns brown {this is a time consuming process but trust me slow and steady wins the race}.

In the making

 

My husband is a total sweetheart he did the sautéing for me. Here is a picture of my husband hard at work.

Chef's assistant

TH Hard at work

So readers I hope you will try this recipe. Trust me this is a winner and a keeper. Enjoy

Last look

7 thoughts on “Beef Olarthiyathu

  1. Pingback: Recipe Index « anishathefoodie

Leave a Reply

