Mousakka

Inspiration comes from the darndest places. I was watching reruns of the sitcom Full House and in the episode titled The Last Dance. Jessie’s (John Stamos the cutiest pie) grandfather,  fondly called Papouli  comes from Greece and he makes Mousakka for them. The dish looked lovely. I paused the video and did a google search and found a seriously easy recipe with all the required ingredients at home with me. What are the chances of that happening. I took out all the ingredients and made it before you could say Papouli’s Mousakka.

That night for dinner we had this easy to make, slightly unhealthy, but totally tasty Mousakka. My husband dug into it even before I finished setting the table; hence my pictures are of half eaten Mousakka.

My Half Eaten Mousakka

Also I don’t have a baking dish so I used my cake pan so it was a little lacking in depth. The next time I make this, or when you make mousakka I suggest you use a vessel of a smaller diameter to give the depth to your mousakka.

Here is the recipe with slight changes to suit my husband’s very Indian palate.

On the cooling Rack

Ingredients  (Serves 3)

1 Large eggplant, thinly sliced

¼ cup (60ml) olive oil

½ kg lamb mince (I used beef)

1  onion, chopped

2 tsp allspice (I used Eastern Meat Masala)

2  large tomatoes, chopped

½ cup water

¼  cup chopped parsley

50g butter

2  tbs Maida or wheat flour

1/2 cups milk

pinch of nutmeg

1  egg

1 ½  cup (40g) grated cheddar

Method

Preheat oven to 180°C.

Fry the eggplant in olive oil till golden brown. Remove the eggplant and sauté the chopped onion and the mince.   Add 1 tsp allspice or meat masala or even garam masala, the tomatoes and 1/2 cup water. Simmer for 20-30 minutes. Stir in 1/4 cup chopped parsley.

Grease your baking pan and line the bottom with egg plant. Top with the mince and add the egg plant in the final layer.

Melt the butter in a pan. Stir in 2 tbs APF or Wheat Flour. Whisk in 1 1/2 cups milk. Stir over medium heat until it boils. Whisk in pinch of nutmeg and 1 egg. Pour over dishes and sprinkle 1/2 cup (40g) grated cheddar. Bake for 20-30 minutes  till the top has a beautiful brown crust.

This is great to have with some salad.

Bon Appetit or as the Greeks say it Kalí óreksi!

 

2 thoughts on “Mousakka

  1. Pingback: Mousakka » Greece on WEB

  2. Pingback: Recipe Index « anishathefoodie

Leave a Reply

