Lucya Aunty fish curry

I know it’s been a long time, I want to blog but laziness gets the better of me every time. I have a million excuses, work, my tuitions, etc, etc but still it unfair of me to ignore my blog like this.

Not that I have not been cooking, I have been cooking loads and loads and taking pictures but the simple act of writing makes a lazy girl of me 😦 … and to think I wanted to be a writer, sighhh.

Just as actresses who have been away from the silver screen for some time make a comeback, so will this post be a comeback. It’s an ultra glamorous post. One that makes my husband and me salivate… in spite of the fact I don’t like fish curry.  Well this is is one such special curry.

For Christmas we went to his aunty Lucya’s house for lunch. Of the very many curries and dishes that I loved, the one I bulldozed her into giving the recipe was this fish curry. It was tangy, spicy, deep dark red, everything a fish curry should be and a little bit more.

So here comes Lucya aunty’s fish curry.

Fiery fish curry

Ingredients

Fish – 1 Kg (I used Bittar / Butter fish)

Chilly powder –  2 tblsp

Turmeric powder – ½ tsp

Fenugreek powder – ¼ tsp

Fish masala – 1 tsp (totally optional)

Kodampulli – 2 -3 (soaked for 10 minutes in a cup of water)

Mustard seeds – ½ tsp

Shallots – 4 – 5 sliced

Green chillies – 2-3(slit)

Curry leaves – 1 sprig

Ginger – 1 tsp (chopped)

Garlic – 1 tsp (chopped)

Coconut milk powder – 1 tblsp (mixed in 1 cup water)

Coconut oil – 1 tsp

Salt – to taste.

Make a small ball with the chilly powder, turmeric powder, fenugreek powder, and the fish masala along with a few drops of water. This is done to prevent the masala from burning when we add them to the kadai.

Heat oil in a kadai add the chopped ginger, and garlic. Throw in the  curry leaves sauté and add the masala ball and further sauté for 1 minute. Add the kodampulli water, salt and let it boil. When it boils add the fish pieces and let it come to a boil. Simmer it and let it cook till done. Finally add the coconut milk. Simmer for a few minutes and take off the stove.

Do tadka with mustard seeds, shallots and curry leaves.

Keep covered till ready to use.

Unlike my mama’s version of fish curry which I have blogged about before. This fish curry cannot be kept outside overnight because of the coconut milk in it. So keep it in the fridge and while heating it up the next day, add a teeny amount of water cover it and simmer till ready .

We love it so much we eat it with everything. We eat it with rice, puttu, kappa, even with chapathi and Dosa. I hope you will try it out and love it as much as we love it.

This post is going straight to the Kerala Kitchen being hosted by Julie at erivumpuliyumm.

4 thoughts on “Lucya Aunty fish curry

  1. Pingback: Recipe Index « anishathefoodie

  2. Pingback: Egg Roast | anishathefoodie

Leave a Reply

