Baked Salmon

What happens when you are getting ready to go home?  You conduct an inventory of the left over stuff in your pantry, plan elaborate menus for the coming week and then forget all about it right? What No!!! Oh!!! you mean its just me … Oh!!!

Well like every time I plan a holiday the last day before I leave there is a flurry of cooking. I try out stuff I have never tried before, juat to finish my kitchen supplies. Some are successful, some are not.

Among the lucky few items that were successful, one is this baked Salmon, another was a paneer tikka (no photos) and a one bowl vanilla cake.

The baked salmon is a result of a fillet of salmon in my freezer and some pesto from a pasta earlier that week. It was good. Because it was good I am sharing the recipe with you.

Ingredients

Salmon – 1 fillet

For the pesto

Coriander leaves – 1/4 cup

Almonds – 4 -5 (blanched)

Green chillies – 2 (seeded if your spice tolerance is too low)

garlic – 1 clove

Lemon juice – 1/2 lemon

Salt – to taste

Method

Finely grind the ingredients listed under pesto to a smooth chutney consistency. Make small cuts in the fish. Marinate it for a minimum of 1/2 hour.

Preheat oven to 350 F. Line a baking tray with aluminium foil. Lightly brush the foil with oil. Lightly means very light.

Place the fish in the tray in the middle rack and bake for 25 – 30 mins. To test the doneness just take apart a small piece of the fish with a fork. If it flakes easy then its done.

Thats it. Its very simple and quite delicious. Not to mention absolutely healthy.

I hope you will all give it a shot.

You can serve it with a side of sautéed vegetables. But as I had too many other dishes I didnt. I will definetly make this again and serve it to you, my beloved readers with a lot of love. Till then this is going to Usha’s Seafood feast 

2 thoughts on “Baked Salmon

  1. Pingback: Recipe Index « anishathefoodie

Leave a Reply

