Kashmiri Chicken… for my papa

Two chicken recipes back to back, am not surprised because I love chicken. It is fast replacing beef as my favourite non vegetarian food… I wonder why. This is a super tasty, but not so healthy recipe. It is my fathers favourite chicken curry and for years I used to make this for my father on his birthday. This year my father is hitting 60 and I am going to help him celebrate, so here is the recipe so that you can join me and my family in wishing my papa a very happy birthday on  the 10th of May.

My father is the most incredible person I have ever met. He is everything good in the world. Patient, kind, loving …. every time I speak to him no matter how my mood is, I feel wonderful. My father is my hero, and my prayer is that every little girl should have a father like him … I love you soo much papa.

Now for the recipe, I dont know if people in Kashmir eat this chicken curry, but I know we do … and we enjoy it as well. This is a recipe from Dr.  Lekshmi Nair, and has always worked well for me … now on to the recipe

IMG_5908

Kashmiri Chicken

For the marinade

  1. Chilly powder – 1 tblsp
  2. Coriander Powder – 1 tblsp
  3. Turmaeric powder – ½ tsp
  4. Garam Masala – 1 tsp
  5. Jeera Powder – ½ tsp
  6. Salt – 1 tsp
  7. Ginger garlic paste – 4 tsp
  8. Food colour – a pinch
  9. Egg- 1 (slightly beaten)

For the gravy

  1. Onion – 3 chopped (big)
  2. Tomato paste- 3 tomatoes
  3. Chilly powder – 1 ½ tsp
  4. Coriander powder – 1 ½ tsp
  5. Garam Masala – 1 tsp
  6. Jeera powder – ½ tsp
  7. Chilly paste– 6 (soaked and ground)
  8. Cashew and Raisins paste  – (2 tblsp – 1 tblsp)
  9. Salt – 1 ½ tsp

Take chicken add ingredients for marinadeand marinate for half an hour. Deep fry. Keep aside.

Take a pan, pour a little oil, sauté onions till light brown. Add ginger garlic paste, chilly powder, coriander powder, jeera powder, garam masala. Add chilly paste. Pour ¼ cup water. Add tomato paste, cashew raisin paste. Add add 1 cup water, salt and let it boil. Add chicken pieces, mix well and simmer for 10 – 15 minutes.

Garnish with coriander leaves.

IMG_5907

 

 

3 thoughts on “Kashmiri Chicken… for my papa

  1. Pingback: Recipe Index | anishathefoodie

Leave a Reply

