Coconut Rice

Today’s recipe for you is a rice dish, one more among the many I have. It is surprising how many rice dishes I have on the blog considering I don’t like rice all that much…I hardly make rice these days perhaps once in a week…but coconut rice I love. I still remember the first time I had coconut rice. I was in my friend Nanditha’s house and her dad had prepared coconut rice for us… it was yumm. So simple and tasty with such light flavours. I still remember that rice, which is nothing short of remarkable as I had it when I was in school wayyy back in 2000, that tasty it was.

However the next time I had coconut rice was last year (2012). One fine day I overslept, what to do I needed to make lunch asap…we eat palakadan matta rice, which takes about one hour to cook, not to mention I had to make a curry and a side dish for it…as I sat and panicked suddenly I was reminded of the coconut rice…I went online, looked for the recipe and one hour later lunch was ready.

coconut rice

Ingredients

Rice – 1 cup (I used basmathi)

Salt – to taste

bay leaf – 1

Water – enough to cook the rice

Coconut oil – 2 tsp

Mustard Seeds – 1 tsp

Hing – 1 tsp

Cashew – a handful

Curry Leaves – 2 sprigs

Red Chilly – 3-4

Pre soaked and dry roasted Urad dal – 2 tsp (optional)

Coconut – 1/2 cup

coconut rice tava chicken and devil chutney3

Method

Soak, wash and cook the rice till 90% cooked in salted water to which the bay leaf has been added. Drain and keep aside to cool.

Heat the coconut oil (or any other oil you prefer) add mustard seeds, when they crackle add the cashews and fry till they get a light brown. Add the curry leaves, torn red chillies and sauté till done. Add the hing, urad dal, coconut and give a brief stir for about a minute (make sure the colour doesn’t change). Add the cooled rice and give it a good stir. Done.

You can make your own different tempering ingredients as per your taste, I usually skip the dal as it is too much work. I substitute the red chilly for green chilly etc etc…it is a very flexible dish. You can eat it with a potato fry, chicken fry, or any other side you prefer.coconut rice tava chicken and devil chutney2

I have paired it in this picture with Devil’s chutney and tawa chicken.

Enjoy.

 

One thought on “Coconut Rice

  1. Pingback: Recipe Index | anishathefoodie

Leave a Reply

