Idly Manchurian

I hate idly’s. Nothing anybody can do can change it. I don’t care if it’s the softest, whitest or whatever idly… I hate it. It’s nopt a dislike it is a hate… that’s how strongly I feel about idly. The only way I can eat idly is by cutting it into bite sized peices and drowning them in a giant bowl full of sambar topped with onions and extra coriander…that’s the only way i’ll eat idly…that was of course before I ate idly Manchurian. My boss brought a box of this really yummy looking food. He asked me to taste it and guess what it was … it was yummy and my guesses ranged from potato to bread. I was shocked when he said it was idly (this is after I had almost half the box). I was hooked. I decided to make idly just for this. And I did and I made idly Manchurian … awesome the idly Manchurian of course…  it is a lovely breakfast item; it also makes an awesome snack. It is a tasty twist to an old stale favourite. Idly Manchurian is easy to make and easier to eat.

Idly Manchurian

Idly Manchurian

Ingredients

Idly – 6 (cut into small bite sized peices)

APF (Maida) – 2 tblsp

Cornflour – 1 tblsp

Ginger Garlic paste – 1 tsp

Soya Sayce – 1 tblsp

Water – enough to make a thin batter

Onions – 1 (chopped)

Ginger – 1 tsp (Chopped)

Garlic – 1 tsp (chopped)

Capsicum  – 1 (Chopped)

Green Chillies – 3-4 (slit)

Tomato Sauce – 2 tblsp

Soya Sauce – 1 tsp

Vinegar – ½ tsp

Oil – for deep frying

Coriander leaves / Spring Onions (for garnishing)

Water

Method

Prepare a batter with cornflour, APF, ginger garlic paste, soya sauce and water. Add the idly to the batter and when the batter coats the idly well deep fry till golden brown and keep aside.

In a kadai heat a tsp of oil, add onions, when slightly pink add the ginger, garlic, green chillies and sauté well. Add the capsicum and toss till cooked for a few mintutes. Add the tomato sauce, soya sauce, and vinegar and mix well. Add a few tblsp of water and add the fried idly’s to the sauce and toss around till the sauce coats the idly. Garnish with coriander leaves or spring onions. 

Idly Manchurian

Idly Manchurian

One thought on “Idly Manchurian

  1. Pingback: Recipe Index | anishathefoodie

Leave a Reply

