Cabbage Thoran

Legend goes that I used to be very reluctant to eat cabbage, maybe it’s the smell, I don’t know ,I never used to eat cabbage. My mother tried her best to make me eat (I suppose), but I flat out refused to eat it, until my cousin happened to mention that cabbage thoran is cricketer Ajay Jadeja’s favourite dish. I was a huge Jadeja fan, and I didn’t need any other reason to start eating cabbage, after that I took to eating it like a duck to the water.

Of course, you don’t have to be a Jadeja fan to eat cabbage, like all vegetables even cabbage is chock a-blockย with nutrients and health benefits. It is presumed to be one of the healthiest vegetables in the world. You can read more about that here.

 

Now onto my recipe

IMG_2276

Cabbage – 1 shredded finely(this I hate)

Mustard seeds – 1 tsp

coconut oil – 2 tsp

red chillies – 2-3

curry leaves – 4-5

Salt – to taste

Turmeric Powder – a pinch

Coconut – ย 1 cup

Cumin Seeds – 1 tsp

Turmeric Powder – a pinch

Ginger – 1″ peice

Shallots – 2-3

Salt ย – a pinch (remember we have already salted the cabbage)

Green Chillies – 2-3 (depending on how spicy your chillies are)

Curry leaves – 2

IMG_1589

Method

Heat coconut oil in a kadai, splutter mustard seeds, red chillies and curry leaves. Add the cabbage, salt, and turmeric. Cover and cook on low flame till it is half cooked (it will wilt and become practically half it’s volume). Toss well.

Pulse the coconut, cumin seeds, turmeric powder, ginger, shallots, salt, chillies and curry leaves, till it resembles dessicated coconut.

Make a well in the kadai and add the coconut to the cabbage. cover and cook for two minutes. After that remove the cover and give it a good mix.

IMG_2274

 

Tada…job done.

 

 

16 thoughts on “Cabbage Thoran

  1. Pingback: Recipe Index | anishathefoodie

  2. Pingback: Happy Onam | anishathefoodie

Leave a Reply

