Kati Rolls my way

I have never been to Kolkata, I have never eaten Nizam’s yummy Kathi Rolls, but I am in love with it. I saw an episode with Rocky and Mayur where they visited Nizam’s…. just looking at the rolls made me sallivate. I WILL go there one day and I will eat the original….till then here is my take on it.

A Kati roll is a street food delight first introduced at the above mentioned Nizam’s. It is a APF roti, stuffed with chicken kababs, onions, chillies and sprinkled with chaat masala. It is a culinary icon in Kolkata. I will visit Kolkata, not just for the Kati Rolls, but also for my love for Bengalis.

I adore the Bengalis, I think they have contributed so much to India’s cultural story. They are my second favourite people in India (after Kerala of course). Especially Kolkata, a city that is steeped in culture and history, not unlike my number one city… that is Chennai of course.

There are a lot of similarities between West Bengal and Kerala, maybe that is why I like them  so much. A proud literary and cinematic heritage, a strong leftist tradition, a great love for fish… even our traditional saris are kind of similar (kind of I said)

So here is to the Bengali Babu… the thinking men and women, my love for Kolkata… until I see you, O Kolkata, let this Kati roll be my way of expressing my love for you.

Ingredients

Chicken cubes – 200 grams

Marinade

Red chilly powder – 2 tsp

Turmeric powder – 1/4 tsp

Ginger -garlic paste – 1 tsp

Cumin Powder – 1 tsp

Salt – to taste

Stuffing

Onions – 4 sliced thin

Green chillies – 7-8

Chaat masala – as you please

For the roti

APF – 2 cups

Water – as reqd

Salt – as reqd

Eggs – 2 diluted with a teeny bit of water (for brushing on the roti)

IMG_2486

Method

Marinate chicken in the ingredients for the marinade. Keep aside for an hour. You can either pan fry this chicken, deep fry them, or stick them in a skewer and grill it. I have, at different times done all three.

Mix the dough for the roti. Make thing roti’s and cook them as usual. When they are almost cooked brush one side of the roti with the egg. Flip and let it cook. Remove from fire. Keep aside and make the rest of the rotis.

Assemble them by placing the chicken, onions, green chillies on the side of the roti with the egg. Sprinkle chaat masala.  Wrap up tight. I place a lettuce leaf for a bit of green, it is absolutely optional. IMG_2495

Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Kati Rolls my way

  1. Pingback: Recipe Index | anishathefoodie

Leave a Reply

