Christmas Memories

Christmas is my most favourite time of the year. Born in a non-catholic Christian family Christmas and Easter were our two major celebrations. Our only two religious celebrations so it was a matter of great preparation and getting ready.

The celebrations started on the first of December with the star being put up. That officially signals the start of the Christmas season. We had this one tape of popular Christmas songs which played non-stop in my house. My mother who was a working woman dedicated her weekend to making snacks and baking cakes in her old-fashioned round oven. The smell of the cake baking and licking of the leftover batter from the baking pan are still memories in my mind. The snacks that were made so ceremoniously were later distributed to the neighbors, but more of that later. It’s a season of caroling, visiting. Visits from Santa Claus (not bringing gifts ALAS) joyful merrymaking all the time, and preparing in our hearts and through our actions and mediations for the birth of our Lord. It is the season of Home, Joy, and Peace!

Come Christmas morning in our bright shiny (not) new clothes we went to church to celebrate the birth of our Lord. On our way back we usually stopped at the Bakery and got plum cake and beautiful pillowy white bread. As soon as we came home that bread with my mama’s yumm chicken stew was breakfast. This is a tradition I maintain until this day. Then comes the fun distribution of snacks. My sister and I went to our neighbor’s houses with all the goodies my mom made. Wishes were exchanged, dresses were admired .. simpler times it was. After a round of house visiting come home to a sumptuous lunch and then a food coma. Evenings were spent visiting relatives nearby…fun indeed

I have tried my best to continue the traditions but still, something is missing. My best Christmases are the Christmases at home. For what are traditions and customs and celebrations without the ones you love the most to share among them. I long for those days of free travel of visiting family or having fun with friends and can’t wait for all that again.

To help you celebrate your christmas a litte bit better here are my all time Christmas hits

Breakfast

Appam

Idiappam

Palappam

Egg Roast

Chicken Curry

Easter Special Chicken Curry

Duck Piralan

Vegetable Stew

Lunch

Kappa

Fish Curry

Beef Biryani

Hyderabadi Lamb Biriyani

Mutton Biriyani

Prawn Pulao

Pressure cooker Biryani

Raita

Sweet Corn Raita

Cake

Fruit Cake / Christmas Cake

Happy Christmas. May the Lord fill you and your family with grace, love and peace. May we take nothing for granted and be thankful for family and friends to spend this joyous season with. Wishing you a delightful Christmas from my home to yours.

Till we meet again..